Roku Tried to Kill Me

night television tv video
Photo by Tookapic on Pexels.com

12/30/18, my last day off work after Christmas. I was looking forward to sleeping in. I even forced myself to stay up way later than normal last night just so I could sleep in.

Then this happened…

(Cue dream sequence music.)
I have a Roku unit on my LED TV in my bedroom. I generally fall asleep watching a TV show. For those that don’t have a Roku, not too long after a show is done, if there is no interaction with the remote it will revert to a cute screensaver.

I used that screensaver as a night light. It’s the perfect brightness so, if I have to get up in the middle of the night it’s not bright enough to hurt the eyes but I can still see to walk.
(End dream sequence music.)

My workday alarm is at 6:20am.

This morning, the Filmrise channel on Roku (one I hadn’t even been into yet because it’s newer) decided, at 6:00am, to start playing a movie for no apparent reason!

Scared the ever lovin’ (insert cussword here!) outta me!!!!

I’m wide awake, heart is racing, and I’m just staring at the TV trying to figure out what was going on and why it decided to do this!

Let’s recap:
-Filmrise channel, a channel I hadn’t been in before, played a random movie, for no apparent reason.
-It was the “12 Dogs of Christmas”. From the few minutes I watched, it’s not a movie I’d choose.
-My remote was on my nightstand where I’d put it the night before. Nothing was on it that could have pressed a button.
-I’ve used Roku around 5 years and this has never happened before.
-Roku awakened me, on my day off, 20 minutes earlier than my alarm would have if it were a work day.
-I could have had a heart attack and the forensics team wouldn’t have been able to figure out that Roku killed me.
-What a way to start the day!

So, I contacted Roku and explained the situation. Don’t know when they’ll get back to me because of the holiday season. i’m curious as to what they’ll say about this.

Now I’m off to do some research and see if anyone else has had this happed to them…or been killed by Roku.

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.